Use predicted states to update constraints

Hi :wave:

I’m new to use acados, and I want to build an optimal control problem that will use predicted states to update my constrains.

1. problitem

Specifically, for example, a constraint maybe like

(x-2)^2+ (y-2)^2 - 4 > 0

when doing prediction, the x and y will update, I can’t just use the initial state( at the beginning) to make constraints, that may not come out what I desire.
So can you give suggestions on how to do this?

1. what I am using
    I use python interface to build my robot model and my ocp model, and generated it into c code.
    then I use C and h files to build my ros mpc nodes with cpp.

(what I think till now maybe use ocp_nlp_constraints_model_set to update, but the expression itself needs to be change?( like what I said, x and y will change))

I would appreciate it if anyone could give me help!! :pray:

Hi Robin, welcome to the acados forum! :wave:

I am not quite sure if I understand your question correctly. When you say “the x and y will update” does that mean their values are known, i.e. they aren’t optimization variables?

Hello kaethe!
Oh I feel sorry for not giving clear description, let me add more.
x, y are my system states, so in real control process, the SQP solver will know their values at the beginning of building an optimal control problem, and use mpc to predict a set of future values which is relative to the future inputs, so if I denote x0 , y0 as known start state in a period mpc control programming.
Then in the process of building ocp, I want to update my constraints cause it’s relative to my state, but I don’t know how to do it.

(plus: I’m now working on python code and try to add nonlinear constraints when building my robot model, I may show you some part of it, I mentioned ’ “”“here are my constraints”“” ', so you may understand my problem)

from acados_template import AcadosModel
import casadi as ca
import numpy as np
import yaml

def bluerov2_model_cbf(param):