Using SQP-RTI in Simulink / on dSpace

Hi guys,

my goal is to apply an MPC to an embedded system. Therefore it will be necessary to run the code on a dSpace RT system, which I’ve never done before. My first approach will be to integrate my controller into a Simulink model and try to make it run on the dSpace.

I’ve successfully used the matlab interface to generate an S-Function of my controller, and my simulation results are satisfying. As I’m using the SQP-RTI algorithm, I would like to exploit the possibility of spliting my OCP to (1) the preparation phase and (2) the feedback phase. My question is, how can one implement this in a simulink model? Is this even possible when using the acados S-Function generation? Or would you suggest integrating my controller into Simulink differently, and what would your suggestion be?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Greets

Hi,

the split into preparation and feedback phase is not done yet for the S-function.

Sounds good, I would focus on that first.
If you find that your controller then is not fast enough, one can think about how to adapt the S-function with the RTI phase split.

Note that it was recently reported that the timings saved through that are lower than expected.

Maybe you can first time the different phases to see how much time you would gain.

Cheers

Hi @FreyJo,

thanks for your fast reply, I’ll first focus on that approach! I’m right now struggling to build my Simulink model containing the acados S-Function using the Simulink Coder. It seems like there is some problem including all the different header/ source files, leading to error messages like e.g. " undefined reference to `ocp_nlp_plan_create’ ". I have already tried to include some directories and acados_solver_(…).c as a source file, but now I don’t know how to continue. Is this a known issue and do you have any suggestion on how to solve it?

Thanks a lot!

Hey @bissingen,