How to set weights of costs according to the time interval in MPC prediction horizon

Hi,

I am a newbie on MPC and ACADOS seeking for help setting cost weight related to the time interval in MPC prediction horizon. I am also not a native English speaker. So I want to apologize in advance for my low-level expression and questions that might be too naive.

I am using the python interface of ACADOS. I have installed ACADOS in Ubuntu20.04 successfully.

Specifically, I am re-producing the MPC controller from High-MPC using ACADOS because it is said that ACADOS could run much faster than the C compiled version of Casadi. The paper of High-MPC can be viewed in https://rpg.ifi.uzh.ch/docs/TRO21_Yunlong.pdf

The released code is constructed in Casadi. I can totally understand the code. In this MPC, the cost function is constructed as like (1/2) * exp[-(t_{cur} - t_{ref})^2] * (x_{cur} - x_{ref})^2 where t_{cur} and x_{cur} represent the current time interval and the current state of the system, the t_{ref} and the x_{ref} represent the referenced time interval and the referenced state. By setting the weight exp[-(t_{cur} - t_{ref})^2], the MPC cost function would focus on the time interval near the referenced time. The MPC’s purpose is to control a quadrotor flying to the referenced place on the referenced time.

I have seen plenty of questions in this forum discussing how to change cost and its weight W over time, but I can’t see if they are suitable for my situation, because what I want is to adjust the cost value of MPC in its prediction time horizon. Maybe due to my weak English skills, the operation of setting W seems to be changing the weight after the MPC run a whole step with N time intervals where N is the MPC’s prediction time horizon, not after a single time step like N-1 to N.

So is it possible to do what I want in ACADOS using python interface? And if possible, how could I achieve my goal? I could only offer my appreciate.

I hope I got you right.