Time varying constraints, reference etc with acados in matlab

Hi :wave:

I am new to acados and would like to set up MPC problems in Matlab with constraints, reference, weights, expressions etc that change over time (time dependent, time varying, dynamic).

To explore the possibilities, I first tried to add some changes to the minimal_example_ocp with the pendulum_on_cart_model that was given at github as an example to acados.

I already saw that after setting up the solver, it should be possible to change all those things for specific time steps (“stages”) with:

ocp.set('constr_lbx', lbx_i, i)

So this would change the lower bound for x to the values in lb_x_i for stage i.
And similar one could do this for other bounds, references, expressions.

In the minimal_example_ocp code, there was already this line:

ocp.set('constr_lbx', x0, 0)

This line works fine. In general, if the stage is i=0, setting the lower or upper bound for x for only this stage works (at least it is runnable like this, I did not check if it in this case has an effect).
If using another stage, e.g.

ubx_6=[0.5; inf; inf; inf];
ocp.set('constr_ubx', ubx_6, 6);

this error message appears:

Error using ocp_set
ocp_set: error setting constr_ubx, wrong dimension, got 4, need 0

Error in acados_ocp/set (line 260)
                ocp_set(obj.cost_ext_fun_type, obj.cost_ext_fun_type_e, obj.C_ocp, obj.C_ocp_ext_fun, field, value, stage);

Error in minimal_example_ocp (line 129)
ocp.set('constr_ubx', x_bound_step_6, 6);

I do not understand why this happens. Just to try, I also ran:

ocp.set('constr_ubx', [], ubx_6, 6);

to achieve the 0-dimension. Then the code is actually runnable, but I do not see the expected change in the result. To me it seems like nothing has changed by adding this constraint to stage 6.

Another thing I already tried was to change the reference y_ref:

ocp.set('cost_y_ref', [0;1;0;0], 10);

There, I got the error message:

Error using ocp_set