"NaN in solution detected" - is the problem infeasible?

Hi :wave:,

I have been using acados (with HPIPM) for a few months now and it’s quite impressive what I can throw at it and it will solve!

Right now I am trying to figure out why it can’t handle certain problems and what the error codes actually mean. I looked through the forum and superficially skimmed some source and I still have some doubts regarding what it means when we get

QP solver returned error status 3

As pointed out here, this corresponds to hpipm's

NAN_SOL, // NaN in solution detected

To alleviate this kind of error it was suggested to use LM regularization, this helps but does not explain what is going on. My doubt comes from the fact that the solver fails in the same way if I set up a problem that is certainly infeasible. The only difference is how many QP/SQP iterations occur before it fails.

I checked that there are no NaNs in the failing QP by setting print_level = 3. Should I check if the QP constraints actually define an empty set? Is this implied by the NAN_SOL failure?

I hope to get some insights so that I can improve my formulation to avoid this in the first place.

Thanks in advance :pray:

PS: I think this is quite a general question, but in case it matters, I am using the python interface with a discrete system. I am also using the version tagged 0.1.7 which is the latest “release” on Github as master introduced some changes that broke some of my code.

1 Like

Hi,

It is important to distinguish the infeasibility of the NLP and the QP subproblems.
The QP may become infeasible within the SQP method.
LM regularization leads to smaller steps in the SQP method.
Thus, if you start at a feasible iterate it is less likely that a step moves the next iterate into a region where the QP subproblem is infeasible.
Also, trying different initialization might be worth trying.