Benchmarking Integration Methods

Hi,

I’m a researcher, and I have been working on different integration methods. I wanted to benchmark one of my integration methods against the acados integrators, as these are the fastest most accurate integration methods that I have found so far. I’m using the Matlab interface to create a simulation model using the ‘acados_sim’ function for an IRK integrator. I want to compare this integrator to one that I have programmed in plain matlab (consisting of just basic matrix operations like addition, subtraction, multiplication, indexing). At the moment, the IRK integrator is about 2x faster, but I was wondering if the comparison is apples to apples. My system is a moderate size (I usually go with 77 states), and my understanding is that acados may be doing something under the hood that is more efficient for such system sizes that Matlab may not be doing.

To summarize, I want to know if it is fair to compare an acados integrator with one written in plain Matlab. If it is not, I would like some guidance on how to make the comparison fair. I’m afraid of wasting a lot of time on this issue, only to discover some trivial fact that makes this whole discussion a moot point. Any guidance would be much appreciated.

1 Like

Hi,

That sounds interesting.
I would have expected actually a bigger speedup of acados IRK with respect to a plain Matlab IRK implementation.
However, you system size is larger than what I typically tested.
In acados, we use BLASFEO linear algebra, which is fast for two reasons.

1. BLASFEO uses a dedicated matrix format (panel major).
  2. BLASFEO has optimized routines common advanced hardware architectures. You should make sure acados is compiled with the dedicated target (which should automatically happen by default).

However, as long as you mention these differences in implementation, I think you can make a reasonable benchmark comparison.
Some things that come to mind: